Telling God's Story Year Four: Instructor Text and Teaching Guide

Telling God's Story Year Four: Instructor Text and Teaching Guide

# 080315

Our Price: $10.85
Retail: $14.95
Save: 27.42% ($4.10)
In Stock.

Item #: 080315
ISBN: 9781945841309
Grades: 3-5

Publisher Description:

Listen to the stories of Jesus’ first followers. Learn about the way of life he gave to us. And see what it looks like to live in the new community he is creating.

These weekly lessons guide elementary students through the Book of Acts and the New Testament Letters, while also deepening the understanding of parents and teachers. Each lesson provides pithy, content-filled background information for the teacher and a scripted explanation of the biblical passage designed especially for children to grasp with ease.

Along with the accompanying Activity Book, this fourth volume of the Telling God’s Story series completes the student’s introduction to the New Testament.

Category Description for Telling God's Story Year 4 (Gr. 4):

Telling God’s Story Year 4 is subtitled The Story of God’s People Continues. The focus of this year’s course is the stories and events that happen after Jesus’ departure. Picking up with the gospel story and bridging into the events of Acts, the year continues with the following units:

  • Jesus Departs
  • The Holy Spirit
  • The Cost of Following Jesus
  • Being a New Creation in Christ
  • Who is Paul?
  • The Good News is for Everyone
  • The Life of the Church
  • After Death
  • Last Things
  • These Three Remain: Faith, Hope, and Love

Instructor text is 145 pgs. However, the Activity Book is only 133 pgs. and seems to have fewer activities with less variety. Both are paperback. All scripture references are from the NIV.

Category Description for Telling God's Story:

Providing parents a thoughtful and thorough roadmap for teaching the Bible, this curriculum focuses on knowing Jesus. The Parents’ Guide outlines this approach and could stand on its own, but also serves as an introduction to the courses. Years 1-3 cover nine categories: Stories Jesus Told, Miracles and Teachings of Jesus, the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus’ Early Life, Jesus’ Disciples, Opposition to Jesus, End of Jesus’ Life, and the Rest of the Story. Categories repeat each year with more material and depth added. Year 4 examines what happens when Jesus leaves. From His earthly departure until the Second Coming, children study the book of Acts and NT letters.

Following the same structure, two components are necessary. The Instructor Text & Teaching Guide provides the yearly overview, and scripted text to read aloud and discuss. Parents are encouraged to read the background information and theological perspective ahead of time.

The Student Guide and Activity Book provides a coloring page and activity/project for each lesson. Activities vary. For example: crafts, games, music, cooking, and word searches. Activity pages are reproducible for families. Teacher-student interaction is important, but teacher prep is minimal.

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Brand Name
Olive Branch Books
0.65 (lbs.)
9.5" x 6.5" x 0.38"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software