All About Spelling Review Box

All About Spelling Review Box

# 003932

Our Price: $10.95
In Stock.
Qty:

Item #: 003932
Grades: 1-9

Product Description:

The "official" card storage box, large enough to hold the cards for all levels of the program. Box measures 8" l x 4.5" w x 3.5" h and includes foam spacers.

Store your All About Spelling flashcards in our new Spelling Review Box! By popular demand, this box is large enough to hold the Phonogram Cards, Sound Cards, and Key Cards from all seven levels of the program, plus the Word Cards from the current level you are working on. Your cards will fit perfectly, and you won't have to run out to get multiple index card boxes.

This custom two-piece box measures approximately 8" long x 4.5" wide x 3.5" tall and features a removable lid and foam spacers, which allow your cards to fit perfectly whether you are just starting with Level 1 or you have collected all of the cards from Levels 1-7. As you need more room for your cards, simply take out one of the spacers. The Spelling Review Box is the perfect solution for keeping your All About Spelling cards all in one place.

If you own the old cardstock dividers (not laminated) you will need to trim them down to fit in this box, or order the laminated divider cards. Laminated color-coded Divider Cards must be ordered separately.



Category Description for All About Spelling:

All About Spelling was specifically designed for homeschoolers and tutors with scripted lessons that take the guesswork out of teaching. It has a bunch of helpful features great for one-on-one instruction. All About Spelling takes a multisensory approach so that the student can be successful in spelling regardless of his particular learning style. The program can be customized for each student, with daily review of concepts the individual needs to cover. For each level, you will need the Teacher Manual, student Materials packet and either the Basic or Deluxe Interactive Kit. The Interactive Kit components are used with all levels of the program but are NOT included in the Teacher Manuals or Student Material Packets so you will need to purchase one of them initially as you begin the program. For the teacher, the lessons are scripted for pick-up-and-go daily usage, with plenty of teaching tips built into the lesson right where you need them. Take a little time to read about 10 pages to familiarize yourself with the programs approach, punch out and sort the materials provided, and youre ready to roll!

The key to this program is learning phonograms, which are the sounds that a letter or letter combination make. Using this approach, after learning his phonograms, a student knows what his choices are for spelling that particular sound. Different researchers have come up with different numbers of phonograms that exist in the English language. The phonograms used here are based on the work of neurologist Dr. Samuel Orton and psychologist Anna Gillingham and includes 72 phonograms that the student learns and uses over the 7 levels. Each level includes a teacher book and a student materials packet. The Interactive Kits contain items used with all 7 levels, including divider cards, durable color-coded phonogram tiles, and optional peel-and-stick magnets used with the phonogram tiles so that they can be used on a magnetic board as well as a level surface. Instructions for downloading the Phonogram Sounds App from the publishers website are included. The only other items youll need are an index card box (unless you choose the Deluxe Interactive Kit) and lined notebook paper. Levels are not related to grade levels, but rather skill levels (our suggested grade levels are just a rough guide of where many students will be). Each book contains around 25 steps, or lessons. Some of the major concepts covered in each level are mentioned below. 400-450 words are specifically covered in each level, but remember that these are really example words; the program is giving the student the tools to spell any word using the phonogram approach.

In Level 1, students first learn the 26 most basic phonograms corresponding to the letters of the alphabet. Unlike phonics programs, which tend to teach short vowel sounds and hard consonants sounds first, All About Spelling teaches all possible sounds for each phonogram. For instance, the letter (and phonogram) A can make a short A sound (apple), a long A sound (acorn), and the "ah" sound (water). Phonograms are shown on yellow Phonogram Cards in the student materials packet with the letter or letter combination on the front. On the back are the sounds made by that phonogram, and a key word with that sound. Student or teacher can also listen to the pronunciation on the Phonogram Sounds App by clicking on the color-coded phonogram; after the initial letters, phonograms are grouped here and elsewhere in the program according to vowel and consonant "teams". After the phonograms are learned, oral exercises are included in the book to ensure that the student can discriminate the sounds in a word and identify the phonogram that he hears. Another exercise has the teacher dictate a sound from a Sound Card (red) to ensure that the student can write the phonogram that is spoken. Key Cards (blue) are used to highlight definitions or spelling rules. Word Cards (green) contain words used to test the students understanding; the student either spells the words using the phonogram tiles or writes the words on paper.

While this may sound complicated, the teacher book couldnt be easier to follow. Goals for each step are shown at the beginning of each step, as well as specific materials needed. Review begins every lesson, and the concepts and words being reviewed are based on areas that the student needs practice. Pictures of the particular cards or tiles used in the lesson are shown at the point of use in the book. Lessons have just the right amount of scripting so the teacher is never at a loss for what to say or do next. Additional words for practicing a just-learned concept are also given. Teaching tips and side notes are right where you would expect them. A cardstock Progress Chart shows the students advancement through the steps of each level; upon completion the student gets a suitable-for-framing Certificate of Achievement.

This spelling program is designed to be used with students who can read at a beginning level (able to read consonant-vowel-consonant words and words with blends such as stop and fast). Also, keep in mind that this program focuses entirely on spelling and does not include vocabulary.

This spelling program is unique in its multisensory approach to teaching spelling, and may help students succeed who might otherwise struggle. Kudos to author Marie Rippel for putting together such a well-designed program for student and teacher alike. ~ Bob

Packets contain phonogram cards, sound cards, key cards, word cards, syllable tags, syllable division rules, word banks, Jail for Rule Breakers, progress chart, certificate of achievement, stickers, and other items specific to that level.




Primary Subject
Spelling/Vocabulary
Grade Start
1
Grade End
9
Format
Manipulative
Brand Name
All About Learning Press
Weight
0.8 (lbs.)
Dimensions
7.25" x 10.0" x 5.75"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 1 question Browse 1 question and 50 answers
Why did you choose this?
Rainbow Resource Center Store
Awesome box for the flashcards. Love me some organization!
Alina W on Oct 26, 2020
We originally thought we could do without this review box, but are finding other methods to store the cards just don't work as well. We are excited to have this box to store our All about Reading and Spelling cards.
Wendy K on Sep 22, 2020
Awesome box for the flashcards. Love me some organization!
Alina W on Oct 26, 2020
It’s sturdy and the right size for the cards.
Kathryn M on Oct 8, 2020
We originally thought we could do without this review box, but are finding other methods to store the cards just don't work as well. We are excited to have this box to store our All about Reading and Spelling cards.
Wendy K on Sep 22, 2020
VERY helpful with organizing...no worries about a perfect fit for AAS cards.
Pamela R on Sep 2, 2020
Starting another child on this fantastic curriculum and another box with help us stay organized.
Sarah E on Aug 30, 2020
Regular index card boxes do not fit the entire level 1 efficiently. I had to buy 2 boxes per child and they still don't fit right, SAVE YOUR SANITY and just buy this box so you know everything will fit properly.
Katherine P on Aug 27, 2020
It is the correct size to house all of the reading and spelling cards. It will keep the cards tidy.
Angela G on Aug 22, 2020
I like that it has foam dividers to keep the cards in place and in order.
Mary N on Aug 12, 2020
We love All About Reading!!!
Preston C on Aug 10, 2020
It's been a hassle to keep the cards rubber-banded--this should make things easier to keep organized.
Lu P on Aug 6, 2020
It's very handy for storing the spelling cards. Very sturdy. Holds about three levels' worth of cards.
Kimberly N on Jul 13, 2020
I need to be able to store items for the kit with easy access
Sandra G on Jul 11, 2020
I found the box that goes with all about reading very helpful, so I wanted to get this one for my all about spelling cards.
Audrey K on Jul 4, 2020
This seemed highly recommended to get along with the other materials.
Heidi S on May 26, 2020
I wanted this for the curriculum
Stephanie S on May 21, 2020
Having this box is very helpful for storing our spelling cards.
Lisa F on May 20, 2020
Great for storing the AAS cards!
Natalie S on May 19, 2020
Just starting level one
Debbie on Apr 7, 2020
SInce I am using this program with all three of my children, I needed another box and dividers when my oldest leveled up.
LeAnne O on Feb 28, 2020
Easy way to store material
kristy W on Jan 19, 2020
An index card box doesn't hold 1 sections worth or cards, so this is just helpful.
Angela H on Sep 25, 2019
Friends,<br />If you are looking for a spelling program that transforms your teaching, please try this! It rescued my distracted learner and helped us focus and conquer.
Naomi A on Sep 6, 2019
Looks like a great way to organize and store our spelling cards!
Stacy A on Sep 1, 2019
our cards quickly filled up standard index box
Andrea V on Aug 28, 2019
Need additional box for next level of spelling cards
Andrea S on Aug 7, 2019
Previous experience. Love the program.
Tomika B on Aug 2, 2019
We have been using rubber bands to store our cards. But they are getting bent and there are just so many. I want to be more organized this year.
Jenny M on Jul 29, 2019
Using a regular index card box is not really efficient because of the size of the cards and quantity. A friend has the box and I saw how much better it was for storing the cards.
Charity P on Jul 17, 2019
after trying to make index card boxes work and having trouble fitting all the review cards in, I decided to purchase this instead.
Heather M on Jul 16, 2019
Extra box for my youngest, who starts AAS this year
User on Jun 29, 2019
Bought to go with the Level 1 program
Mushermom on Jun 19, 2019
To organize the cards.
Robert B on Jun 9, 2019
I needed another box for my younger child.
ANGELA M on May 16, 2019
I have a second child doing the program that needed his own box.
Lindsay G on Mar 6, 2019
It doesn't come with the Basic Interactive Kit
Sherry H on Feb 20, 2019
We tried using an index card box for it and it just didn't work!!
Lindsay G on Jan 29, 2019
The basic All About Spelling Interactive Kit does not come with these boxes and I find it cheaper or the same price to buy the actual ones then to buy index card boxes elsewhere.
Kristina G on Jan 24, 2019
We needed somewhere to store the AAS cards.
Robert T on Jan 21, 2019
I've tried other sized boxes for the little cards that come with All About Spelling and they have not worked.
Jennie D on Nov 8, 2018
I need this to go along with the program.
Katrina S on Oct 3, 2018
To keep the cards in the interactive kit organized.
Anne I on Sep 24, 2018
another homeschool mom online said that the cards fit best in this - not so well in a standard index card box
Erica D on Aug 20, 2018
Third kid needs her own box!
Molly M on Aug 6, 2018
I teach multiple students and plan to use multiple levels of this program. Having one box to organize my cards without having to improvise with trial and error and other office supplies is worth the money.
Sarah F on Jun 29, 2018
Great product!
Eric T on Jun 21, 2018
wanted something that I knew would fit
Sherry S on May 18, 2018
I do not have it yet and would like to store the cards in this box.
Sarah H on May 8, 2018
My third child will be starting All About Spelling soon and I needed to spend a few more dollars to receive free shipping. He will be excited to have his own Spelling box and I’m sure he will continue to work hard in his phonics program so he can begin shortly.
Stephanie C on Mar 28, 2018
Help me stay organized.
Jill B on Feb 27, 2018
I purchases All About Spelling Level 1 and I need some way to organize the cards
Jessie W on Feb 21, 2018
It’s sturdy and the right size for the cards.
Kathryn M on Oct 8, 2020
VERY helpful with organizing...no worries about a perfect fit for AAS cards.
Pamela R on Sep 2, 2020
4.9 / 5.0
13 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
12
1
0
0
0
Perfect size
I was trying to fit everything in a recipe box but it wasn't going to work past 1 or 2 levels of AAS. This size is great for keeping the cards organized.
August 30, 2020
Purchased
3 months ago
Perfect!
This box makes it easy to handle all of the cards.
March 12, 2020
Purchased
8 months ago
Good Box
It is a Good Box for using to hold the Student cards in place.
August 30, 2019
Purchased
1 year ago
Spelling Review Box
Really excellent buy to assist in keeping these cards together and well looked after. Also helps prevent them being lost or meddled with and/or dropped by inquisitive younger ones.
June 19, 2019
Purchased
over 2 years ago
Durable
Stronger than a shoebox and precisely the right size for the All About Spelling cards. I needed a second box to contain all the cards for Levels 1-7. The box will hold the cards for 3-4 books at the most.
October 24, 2018
Purchased
over 3 years ago
Worth the money
I purchased 2 x 5 card boxes from my local department store first, but it is so much nicer to keep all my materials in this sturdy box which comfortable houses all the student cards from All About Spelling Levels 1 and 2.
October 27, 2017
Purchased
over 3 years ago
worth it
Although the price is a little high, especially if you have more than one child who needs it, it's well worth it because the many cards for All About Spelling and All About Reading fit well into it. You're using that box every day, and anything else would be difficult to manage.
August 11, 2017
Purchased
over 3 years ago
Big help for struggling student
I found this curriculum to be exactly what was promised.
My child struggled to learn to read and we neglected spelling. After using the program as instructed she is moving to level 3 this week! The improvement has been so encouraging. Note we spend about 45 min on spelling each day. The review of previous learned material is key. Next year I anticipate a bit lighter load. Because she has made so much progress we will only do 3 lessons a week. I highly recommend this product to anyone needing help with spelling. It's been a blessing to us.
April 30, 2016
Purchased
over 4 years ago
Looked all over for boxes to store these cards - needed 2 to equal this size. Buying this box was less expensive and worked better!
November 8, 2015
Purchased
over 5 years ago
useful container
I am a frugal and do-it-yourself kind of person - so I didn't want to buy a box. However, once it became clear that we will use this fabulous program for years to come, I decided to order the box. It does a much better job of containing all of the cards than the alternate systems I had devised.
October 30, 2015
Purchased
over 5 years ago


help desk software