Gone Crazy in Alabama (Gaither Sisters Series)

Gone Crazy in Alabama (Gaither Sisters Series)

# 082470

Our Price: $7.25
Retail: $8.99
Save: 19.35% ($1.74)
2 In Stock.

Item #: 082470
ISBN: 9780062215895
Grades: 3-7

Publisher Description:

The Coretta Scott King Award–winning Gone Crazy in Alabama by Newbery Honor and New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of the Gaither sisters as they travel from the streets of Brooklyn to the rural South for the summer of a lifetime.

Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern are off to Alabama to visit their grandmother Big Ma and her mother, Ma Charles. Across the way lives Ma Charles’s half sister, Miss Trotter. The two half sisters haven’t spoken in years. As Delphine hears about her family history, she uncovers the surprising truth that’s been keeping the sisters apart. But when tragedy strikes, Delphine discovers that the bonds of family run deeper than she ever knew possible.

Powerful and humorous, this companion to the award-winning One Crazy Summer and P.S. Be Eleven will be enjoyed by fans of the first two books, as well as by readers meeting these memorable sisters for the first time.

Category Description for Gaither Sisters Series:

This is a series about three African American sisters growing up in one of the most tumultuous eras in recent American history, the 1960’s and in an unconventional family setting. The Gaither sisters live in Brooklyn with Pa (Dad) and Big Ma (Grandma) and have an estranged mother in Oakland, California, whom they call Cecile. Read the adventures told by eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sister, Vonetta and Fern, as they visit their kin all over the rapidly changing nation. They will discover that the bonds of family, and their own strength, run deeper than they ever knew possible. A series that addresses real world problems and refers to the Black Panther group at that time. Talks about some tough issues that happened during that era in a tone that was used then. I would suggest reading with your child so you can discuss the unpleasant parts together. The Gaither Sister series starts with One Crazy Summer, followed by P.S. Eleven, and Gone Crazy in Alabama. ~Amber

Category Description for SERIES:

Please see our Reading section for leveled reading series such as I Can Read, Step Into Reading, and many more.

Primary Subject
Library Builders
Grade Start
Grade End
Rita Williams-Garcia
Brand Name
0.45 (lbs.)
7.56" x 5.12" x 0.62"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software