Adventures of the Northwoods Series

Billed as a character-building series for reluctant to gifted readers, these stories are set in the early 1900's of Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan. The historically accurate novels focus on a girl named Kate whose father has died. When her mother remarries a farmer and Kate inherits two step-brothers and moves to a more rugged area, she dreads her new life. Throughout the novels, however, Kate adjusts to wilderness life and comes to love her new family, who are always involved in something interesting. She becomes especially close to her brother Anders, who is also featured in all the books, so the series is enjoyable to both girls and boys. Each book includes some kind of mystery, with adventure (and sometimes danger) along with themes of God's love and provision, dealing with peer pressure, family relationships, and the need for love and forgiveness. By Lois Walfrid Johnson, about 118 pages, pb. ~Rachel

Page 1 of 1
Item # 048775
Grades: 2-5
Retail: $9.99
Our Price: $7.50
Item # 007920
Grades: 2-7
Retail: $48.99
Our Price: $39.95
Page 1 of 1
help desk software