Tchaikovsky Discovers America

This story tells of the great composer's arrival in New York for the grand opening of Carnegie Hall in 1891 and his famous trip to Niagara Falls. A surprise encounter with a young family reveals much about Tchaikovsky - his life in Russia, his love of music and his fears of conducting. In the end, both the composer and the family discover something about courage and about themselves. More than two dozen excerpts of Tchaikovsky's music are featured including The Nutcracker, Sleeping Beauty, Swan Lake, The First Piano Concerto, String Serenade, and 1812 Overture. A poignant story of the meeting of old world influences and new world experiences.

Page 1 of 1
Item # 009884
Grades: PK-8
Retail: $16.98
Our Price: $13.95
Page 1 of 1
help desk software