Where Roads Diverge Reading 8 Complete Set Sunrise Edition

Where Roads Diverge Reading 8 Complete Set Sunrise Edition


Our Price: $31.50
Retail: $35.50
Save: 11.27% ($4.00)
See Availability Below

Item #: WRDSDV
Grades: 8

This package includes the following items:

Publisher Description:

Reading 800 uses five LightUnits and is based on the reader Where Roads Diverge, continuing the theme of choices begun in the seventh-grade reader.

Using the LightUnits, students build vocabulary; examine literary elements such as conflict, theme, and tone; interpret literary techniques such as metaphors, symbols, allusions, irony, and foreshadowing; identify literary genres; practice types of writing; learn critical thinking skills; and respond to truths illustrated in the stories.

Two or three lessons per week cover a full year’s work, or you may choose to cover the course in one semester.

The Teacher’s Guide includes LightUnit pages with answers, teaching instructions, oral reading activity ideas, discussion questions, and alternate tests.

The two Answer Keys (one for the LightUnits and one for quizzes and tests) are not required if the Teacher’s Guide is purchased.

In the Sunrise Edition, LightUnits have an accent color and provide both instructional material and space for students to complete exercises. Answers to the exercises from all five LightUnits are listed in the LightUnits Answer Key.

Teacher Guides (coil-bound) are designed to be used with the Reader and the LightUnits to provide a guided reading program. Well-organized and laid out, the lessons are easy to follow. Lessons are complete with an overview, teacher instructions, and daily schedules. Helpful appendices include: glossary words, literary terms, story verses, an index of character traits, scope and sequence, index of skills taught, alternate reproducible tests with answers (Light Units also contain tests), suggestions for further reading, and an index of all stories and poems.

As the name implies, LightUnit Only Sets include all five LightUnits. Complete Sets include the Reader, LightUnits, Answer Key, and Teacher Guide.

Category Description for Christian Light Reading Programs:

Note: The Learning to Read (grade 1) program shares much of its general educational methods with the rest of the series but the components are a bit different.

The Christian Light Reading (grades 1-8) series just might have everything you are looking for in a reading program. With a major goal of teaching children to think clearly and logically, the readers are highly readable and include enjoyable anthologies of stories and other prose selections as well as poetry and a generous dose of Bible selections (KJV). These selections have a strong character-building emphasis as well as a foundational biblical and Christian worldview. Vocabulary development is enhanced by boldfaced words that are listed in a glossary in each book along with literary terms.

On a practical note, the hardcover Readers are a nice, just-right-for-small-hands size that lay flat with ease. As you would expect, font size gradually diminishes throughout the grade levels. Colorful covers and an inside accent color produce an inviting appearance, but there is a reminder of the program's Mennonite origins visible in the illustrations which depict their particular mode of women's apparel.

Just reading through the stories would be beneficial, but the support information is also well done. Five Light Units accompany each Reader. These are magazine-size worktexts that review phonics in lower elementary, competently cover reading comprehension (all levels), emphasize vocabulary development, and introduce literary analysis in middle school. Integrating reading studies with the practical application of Bible verses, there is also biblical review and an encouragement toward Bible memorization.

The Light Units are designed so the student can work somewhat independently, with symbols to indicate when teacher help is needed. Each Light Unit has three sections; each section has four lessons plus a quiz or self-check. Units are to be completed in 17 days with day 16 as a review. Day 17 is a Light Unit test. (Unit tests are a pull-out section in the center of each LightUnit.)

Answers to the LightUnits and Unit tests are in the teacher materials which vary with the grade level and edition.

Primary Subject
Product Bundle
Brand Name
Christian Light
0.0 (lbs.)
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software