Exploring Economics Curriculum Package  with Student Review Pack

Exploring Economics Curriculum Package with Student Review Pack

# EXECPK

Our Price: $72.00
PACKAGE ITEM
See Availability Below
Qty:

Item #: EXECPK
Grades: 11-12

Product Description:

.

This package includes the following items:

Category Description for Exploring Economics (Gr. 11-12):

We now have the new 2016 edition in stock! Please note that this edition is not compatible with the previous edition of this course.

Like the other homeschool-friendly curricula published by the Notgrass family, Exploring Economics provides careful integration of biblical study and worldview with broad-based coverage of the topic this time, economics. Not a study of business or personal finance, this course introduces both microeconomics and macroeconomics. In addition to an overview of economic terms and concepts, a survey of the economic history of the U.S., comprehensive coverage of economic ideas, and economic issues that confront America today, there are two units that examine Gods economics including a survey of economic ideas in church history and the economic issues that Christians face today. While the course has the stated goal of providing an understanding of what economics is and what it will mean to the student as an adult, it approaches the subject from a perspective of faith in God and a reliance on the Bible as Gods infallible Word to man. While looking at both classic economic definitions as well as changing economic realities, the author obviously holds to a capitalist free-market system.

As in the other Notgrass courses, the Curriculum Package includes the Student Text and a Reader, Making Choices. The Student Text, which is very readable and understandable (an accomplishment when the subject is economics), includes 75 daily lessons (typically 4-5 pages each) divided into 15 units. Each lesson is followed by daily assignments that include reading selections from the Reader, working on a unit project (several are suggested at the beginning of each unit), reading related literature, and answering student review questions (located in the optional Quiz and Exam set). Making Choices is a collection of documents, speeches, and essays that will help the student understand the practical implications of economics. Selections include excerpts from Adam Smith, Walter Williams, George W. Bush, Henry Ford and less familiar figures. Unit projects include both writing assignments and hands-on projects designed to help the student apply what he is learning to real-life situations. For instance, in the Markets unit projects include: talking to someone in business about supply and demand, writing 300-500 words on either the price system or a given Thoreau quote, and locating five common items at five different stores and comparing the price, quality and marketing behind each. Like several other Notgrass courses, this one can be used for economics and English credit, although if you do not want to use the course for English credit, you can opt out of some of the projects and reading. The Quiz and Exam set is considered optional. It includes a Student Review book with review questions on each lesson and essay questions on the literature, a Quiz and Exam Book with unit quizzes and exams, and a separate answer key. Discussions for the projects are not provided but would be helpful in some instances (some general information is provided in a brief parent guide included in the Curriculum Package). Questions, Quizzes, and Exams all tend toward reiterating textual information, while the projects tend toward analytical and evaluative activities. Please note there are some corrections and updates for the Student Review Pack available on the Notgrass website.

This is intended to be a semester course. This would be typical for high school economics and the number of units/lessons implies this. Although not overly intense, there is plenty of work here and the conscientious student will acquire a good, solid foundation not only of economic theory and practice, but also of relevant biblical principles. ~ Janice




Primary Subject
History/Geography
Grade Start
11
Grade End
12
Format
Product Bundle
Brand Name
Notgrass Company
Weight
0.0 (lbs.)
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
Browse 5 questions Browse 5 questions and 60 answers
Why did you choose this?
Rainbow Resource Center Store
Part of a homeschool co-op class.
DIANA K H on Aug 20, 2020
Need it for homeschooling
Laura M on Feb 6, 2020
Part of a homeschool co-op class.
DIANA K H on Aug 20, 2020
class requirement
Rachel E on Aug 5, 2020
Need it for homeschooling
Laura M on Feb 6, 2020
Bought this for my high school seniors economics 1/2 credit, for after she finishes personal finance.
Jamie H on Dec 30, 2019
We enjoyed the Government Curriculum Package for my Senior and Junior 1st semester and looking forward to using this for the 2nd semester.
Jamie G on Dec 20, 2019
We have used other Notgrass curriculum and loved it.
Jennifer E on Oct 1, 2019
Contains a Biblical Worldview. We've enjoyed their well-done materials.
Alyssa S on Sep 17, 2019
We used and enjoyed the American and World history by the same author. Thoughtful, thorough content, and well-planned, easy to follow lessons.
Grace A on Aug 19, 2019
I've used several other Notgrass items and have high hopes for this one as well!
Linda M on Jul 22, 2019
I like Notgrass, and we needed a good Economics program.
Emily B on Jun 26, 2019
My daughter loved the Notgrass Government curriculum, so we decided to stick with it for Economics as well.
Danica J on Feb 22, 2019
Required for Economics class.
Jeri B on Sep 3, 2018
This is the curriculum chosen by our co-op.
Janet U on Sep 1, 2018
Notgrass curriculum is the perfect blend. You receive both History and English credit, but it is the blend of history and biblical that sets it apart! Our family loves that the history is both from the past, but continues right into our current times and leaders of today. The research put into this history curriculum is phenomenal and the photos take you right to the location being spoken of. Excellent for homeschooling!
Jennifer B on Aug 27, 2018
Required for son's history course
Tannis D on Aug 14, 2018
complete, everything I need and looked like something my son would enjoy.
Skye T on Aug 12, 2018
We've also successfully used Notgrass Economics in the past. Our coop has decided to used the updated version this year.
Marilyn R on Aug 8, 2018
Needed for Co op class
Lauren P on Jul 28, 2018
We just finished the Notgrass Government program, which we liked. This was a great deal and fit our need.
Donna M on Jul 19, 2018
I love using Notgrass products---we've used high school American and World History, as well as Exploring Government. Now rounding out with the Economics curriculum.
Kimberly K on Jul 10, 2018
We used the Exploring World History by this company and really liked it.
Patricia D on Jul 9, 2018
We have had a good experience using other Notgrass curricula.
User on Jun 5, 2018
I have used Notgrass curriculum several times and find it through, engaging and comprehensive.
Monica B on Feb 2, 2018
My daughter is a senior and she chose this cuuriculum after using Notgrass for World History, Exploring America for US History, & American Government. She liked the way they are written and learned a lot.
Kevin H on Jan 18, 2018
My son enjoyed Notgrass exploring government and wanted to use Notgrass for economics.
Stephanie E on Jan 16, 2018
Homeschool
Kelli M on Dec 8, 2017
Trying something different to try and engage my son since he's not interested in anything about school, but wants to someday start a business.
Wanda D on Oct 20, 2017
Wanted to explore the world of finance in senior year.
Pamela S on Sep 12, 2017
It was required for the Econ class my daughter is taking at our Co-op
Robyn M on Aug 31, 2017
Used by our co-op, plus it is my personal preference.
Teresa M on Aug 30, 2017
My husband, an accountant by training and a finance man by trade, plans to teach this course at our co-op next semester.
Km F on Aug 28, 2017
I've heard good things about the product and will use it for my senior.
Kirstin R on Aug 1, 2017
We have used Notgrass for American and World History, looking forward to Economics this year. The writing style is easy and engaging.
Brooke L on Jul 1, 2017
I'm looking for an economics package for our co-op
Tammy C on Jun 30, 2017
Used Notgrass American History and it worked well for us.
Don B on May 21, 2017
It was recommended by a friend. We have used other Notgrass products and really liked the layout, and content.
Virginia L on Feb 20, 2017
The integrity of the Notgrass company is exceptional. Great products.
brian c on Jan 16, 2017
Just wanted a semesters worth of economics and it seemed short but sweet. I've used the government curriculum and its great for general knowledge and to whet the childs learning appetite but not overwhelm them with yet another heavy course.
Jodi V on Dec 16, 2016
My oldest son will be using this curriculum for his co-op class next semester.
Carrie L on Nov 30, 2016
We like the Notgrass teaching style, the curriculum is open and go, as well as very easy for my high schooler to be independent in her work and assignments.
Shannon B on Oct 23, 2016
I liked that it was the complete set and I did not have to order the tests separately like other sites. This is the text that our co-op chose to use this year.
Amy F on Sep 2, 2016
suggested by teacher
Camille S on Aug 17, 2016
I chose this because it is offered as a set for the lowest price.
Michelle T on Jul 28, 2016
I have some of their other curriculum and like it.
Molly S on Jul 19, 2016
Required textbook
Marianna G on Jul 15, 2016
Good value, highly recommended
Brandon R on May 11, 2016
We have previously used Thinkwell Economics, and 2 of my children struggled through their college economics courses. This course was recommended by a friend who felt that it provided a strong foundation for college economics as well as including meaningful readings.
Lisa H on May 10, 2016
free shipping
Mary M on Jan 31, 2016
I thought the curriculum looked very thorough and would provide the needed credit for my homeschooler.
Karen H on Dec 29, 2015
class requirement
Rachel E on Aug 5, 2020
Bought this for my high school seniors economics 1/2 credit, for after she finishes personal finance.
Jamie H on Dec 30, 2019
Are the Student Review, Quiz and Exam, and Answer Key books necessary?
Jennifer on Jun 11, 2020
BEST ANSWER: We used all of those items. We found that it helped our daughter to learn the information better. The questions in the Student Review book do show up on the quizzes and exams, which I helped my daughter to take the study of the material more seriously. This should help her to prepare for college, where she will encounter the same type of scenario. Read material, answer questions, take quizzes and exams on the material to show how well it has been learned. The text could have been read without the items asked about, but I don't think my daughter would have tried as hard to learn the material if there wasn't a quiz or exam coming up. She will probably retain more of it in the future from studying it more.
Can a tenth grader handle this this? It says for 11-12 grade.
A shopper on Jul 23, 2019
BEST ANSWER: Yes, a 10th grader could handle this curriculum - especially if they are good readers. It will help to have had the American history and the World history courses before, however.
What Edition year are these textbooks?
A shopper on Jan 25, 2018
BEST ANSWER: No edition is noted in the books. The copyright year for all the books is 2016.
Is there a teachers book or lesson plans that go with this? New to this curriculum.
A shopper on Jan 17, 2018
BEST ANSWER: There is no standalone teacher's book. The assignments are contained in the textbook at the end of each lesson. Quiz and exam answers are in the back of that book. I have an older version of Economics but a newer version of Notgrass Government. From them I conclude that assignments in this book are subjective (like writing a paper) and therefore need no answer key.
5.0 / 5.0
4 Reviews
5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Star
4
0
0
0
0
Another great course! Lived it just as much as the American Government course.
September 30, 2020
Purchased
1 year ago
We are beyond thankful for this economics curriculum. It is intelligently presented and Biblically sound.
September 28, 2019
Purchased
1 year ago
Perfect
It’s great easy to understand and to teach
August 19, 2019
Purchased
1 year ago
Thorough Economics Curriculum
We really like all of the Notgrass Curriculum that we have tried so far, and their Economics high school course is no exception. This Economics curriculum covers everything the student needs to know and more. The best part for the homeschool teacher is that it is so very easy to use with little to no preparation work. The additional books are optional, and I opted for one and used a few others I already had.
February 19, 2019
Purchased
over 2 years ago


help desk software