My First BOB Books: Alphabet

My First BOB Books: Alphabet

# BM-030520

Bargain Price: $8.00
Retail: $17.99
Save: 55.53% ($9.99)
No more Bargain Versions available to purchase.

Item #: BM-030520
ISBN: 9780545019217
Grades: PK-K

Product Description:

My First BOB Books introduce letters of the alphabet in order, 2 or 3 at a time. These use only short vowels and hard consonants because it is easier for young children to understand.

Category Description for Bob Books:

Why are these much-acclaimed set of phonetic practice readers so irresistible to the beginning reader? Perhaps it's the size - just right for small hands; or the length - beginning books in the series are just 12 pages long so your child can read the whole book. Or maybe it's the interesting text as opposed to the bland stuff found in many controlled vocabulary readers. Of course, it could be the simple but charming line-drawings that grace each page. Then there's the bright colors of the covers - or the whole "box" concept complete with stage and finger puppet. Whatever their attraction, a few things come through clearly - they work, kids love them, and grown-ups just aren't sure why! However, these readers have been long used by Montessori teachers in the classroom, too.

There are five sets in all, with 12 books ineach set. Sets 1 and 2 are for beginning readers and feature consistent sounds and short vowels in three-letter words. The color illustrations feature small splashes of color in the same shade as that book's cover. Although only small bits of one shade of color accentuate the illustrations, the effect does make them "pop". Sets 3 and 4 include blends, endings, and occasional sight words. Set 3 has 10 books and Set 4 has 8 longer books. Set 5 also has 8 longer books which contain long vowel words, compound words, sight words, and longer stories.

If you want to nurture a child's lifelong interest in reading, Bob Books would be an excellent place to start!

Category Description for My First Bob Books:

Now there are Bob Books for the even younger crowd. These sets expand on the core sets that have made Bob Books a standard in early reading skills.

The Alphabet Set includes 12 books of 12 pages each. The letters of the alphabet are introduced chronologically, 2 or 3 at a time as you progress through the set. Words in these books use only short vowels and hard consonants because that is easier for young children to understand and both upper and lower case letters are used. The parent card included in this set offers 9 hints for helping your child learn the alphabet along with an explanation of what is offered in this set of books.

The Pre-Reading Skills Set also includes 12, 12-page books. These stories star Sally the Circle, Seth the Square, and Tanner the Triangle. Books 1-3 introduce shapes, sorting is covered in books 4-6, patterns is covered in books 7-9, and sequencing in covered in books 10-12. As you can see, this series is intended to help build basic skills needed for reading preparation. The parent card in this set has suggestions to help your child with prereading skills such as matching shapes or playing 'I Spy' or 'Follow the Leader.' The sequence for the books and an explanation of this set is also included.

Now little ones don't have to wait. These books were written especially for them. - Donna

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Brand Name
Cartwheel Books
0.646 (lbs.)
5.62" x 5.69" x 1.75"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software