Within the Enemy's Lines (Blue and the Gray Series Book 2)

Within the Enemy's Lines (Blue and the Gray Series Book 2)

# 008714

Our Price: $5.39
Retail: $19.99
Save: 73.04% ($14.60)
4 In Stock. Item will be unavailable when sold out.

Item #: 008714
ISBN: 9781890623098
Grades: 5-AD

Product Description:

Capt. Passford and Christy prepare for service in the US Navy, when cousin Cornelius comes to visit as part of a plot to capture the ship for the South

Publisher Description:

The Blue and the Gray Series is set during the American Civil War. Book One, Taken by the Enemy, sets the stage for the rest of the series as it opens during the days just before the conflict, when war is thought to be inevitable. It introduces the main character, Christy Passford, son of a successful Union businessman and leader. Christys father enlists his steamship in the cause of the North and Christy joins the Union navy. The series continues until the very end of the war in Book Six, A Victorious Union.

The books are filled with plenty of adventure that draw the reader into the story involving the young Christyincluding battles, prison breaks, espionage, and more. But it would be a mistake to view these books as mere adventure tales for young readers. These books describe many details of the War between the States and how it was conducted. Described here are the manner in which naval engagements were orchestrated at the time, how Southern ports were blockaded and blockade running was combatted, how neutral foreign ports were used by both sides, and how the war often split families, with members on both sides of the conflict.

The Blue and the Gray Series provides a broad overview of the Civil War and especially of naval operations, while keeping the readers attention through imaginative and exciting stories. These stories are not only history lessons, but lessons in character, exemplified by Christy Passford, who always aims to do his duty and the right thing at all costs. Christy shows courage and bravery in the face of sometimes harrowing events.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

All the books include a glossary. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. New maps, not found in the original editions, are included.

The Civil War is well under way, and Captain Passford and his son Christy are busy preparing their steam-yacht, the Bellevite, for service in the U. S. navy. Now that the ship is almost ready for commission, Christys cousin Cornelius mysteriously shows up at the Passford estate on the Hudson River. Unknown to the Passfords, Cornelius is part of a plot to capture the Bellevite for the South. With his uncle away on business, Cornelius and his conspirators ready their band of rough-and-tumble river pirates. How Christy gets wind of the plot is a hair-raising story all its own. But can he and his small group of compatriots defend the Bellevite? With barely a sailor among them, a quick escape around the dangerous river bends is out of the question. Then, in the darkest hours of the night

Fire! shouted Christy

It was a tremendous explosion, and the echoes rolled out from the hills as though they were armed with heavy guns and were taking part in the conflict. Probably the rattling windows and the shaking frames of the houses roused all the sleepers within a mile of the ship.

The Bellevite was enveloped in the smoke from the discharge, and, though Christy mounted the carriage again to obtain a better view, he could see nothing, for there was not wind enough to sweep it away at once. But the young commander watched

Thus begins the first of many adventures that take the Bellevite on an exciting journey down the coast. An imaginative storyteller, Oliver Optic (William Taylor Adams, 1822-97) wrote 125 books and over a thousand stories for children. Among the best of his stories is The Blue and the Gray Series about the Civil War. Within the Enemys Lines, first published in 1889, is the second book in the series of six.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

Includes a Build-Your-Vocabulary Glossary of some 279 words and definitions. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. Two new maps of Pensacola and Mobile Bay and a map of all of Christys adventures have been created specially for this edition.

Category Description for Blue and the Gray Series:

Weaving together historical events and fictional story-telling, this series take an up close and personal look at a tumultuous time in American history, known as the great Civil War. Centering on the adventures of Northern Captain Passford and his son, Christy, our story begins with a tale of 2 brothers-sympathizers on different sides of the conflict. Joining Captain Passford, we journey to Fort Gaines to retrieve his daughter, who was visiting her uncle when the rebellion broke out. The rest of the series visits common locations and events of the war between the states-see details below. While each book could stand alone, they are best read in numerical order for a thorough view of the times. Engaging story telling that presents a first-hand look at a tragic time in our nation's history. Olive Optic reprint edition by Lost Classics. Includes "Build your vocabulary glossary" with definitions and page references and black line maps SC. 351-369 pgs. ~Deanne

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Oliver Optic
Brand Name
Lost Classics Book Company
1.0 (lbs.)
7.5" x 5.5" x 1.0"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software