Victorious Union (Blue and the Gray Series Book 6)

Victorious Union (Blue and the Gray Series Book 6)

# 008704

Our Price: $5.39
Retail: $19.99
Save: 73.04% ($14.60)
4 In Stock. Item will be unavailable when sold out.

Item #: 008704
ISBN: 9781890623135
Grades: 5-AD

Product Description:

The last weeks of the war find Lt. Christy Passford tasked with capturing blockade runners amidst the ensuing battles. Returning home, family becomes his center focus as he takes a bride and is reunited with his family from the South.

Publisher Description:

The Blue and the Gray Series is set during the American Civil War. Book One, Taken by the Enemy, sets the stage for the rest of the series as it opens during the days just before the conflict, when war is thought to be inevitable. It introduces the main character, Christy Passford, son of a successful Union businessman and leader. Christys father enlists his steamship in the cause of the North and Christy joins the Union navy. The series continues until the very end of the war in Book Six, A Victorious Union.

The books are filled with plenty of adventure that draw the reader into the story involving the young Christyincluding battles, prison breaks, espionage, and more. But it would be a mistake to view these books as mere adventure tales for young readers. These books describe many details of the War between the States and how it was conducted. Described here are the manner in which naval engagements were orchestrated at the time, how Southern ports were blockaded and blockade running was combatted, how neutral foreign ports were used by both sides, and how the war often split families, with members on both sides of the conflict.

The Blue and the Gray Series provides a broad overview of the Civil War and especially of naval operations, while keeping the readers attention through imaginative and exciting stories. These stories are not only history lessons, but lessons in character, exemplified by Christy Passford, who always aims to do his duty and the right thing at all costs. Christy shows courage and bravery in the face of sometimes harrowing events.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

All the books include a glossary. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. New maps, not found in the original editions, are included to help the reader follow along as the stories progress.Oliver OpticsThe Blue and the Gray Series.

This story opens with Christy Passford assigned to the fleet off Mobile Bay as executive officer of the Bellevitehis family yacht now turned into a fast Union cruiser. Christy, with his usual quick wit and daring turns a simple reconnoiter on shore into an attempt to capture a blockade-runner and one of the Souths fastest cruisers. Christy pays a price for his daring this time and is sent back to Bonnydale to recover from wounds suffered during the ensuing battle. A surprise awaits him, however, when he is fully recovered and he receives a new commission as lieutenant-commander in command of the recently captured cruiser, now a Union gunboat.

Christy and his new charge sail for the stormy waters off North Carolina and Cape Fear, the last holdout for Confederate shipping and blockade-runners. In charge of the fastest Union gunboat in the area, he and his crew are assigned the outer perimeter around the cape in order to pick up any blockade-runners able to get past the slower vessels inshore. The war is winding down and Christy joins the Union forces on the James River on their way to Richmond before heading home to Bonnydale and Bertha Pembroke, who had been waiting for him throughout the conflict.

An imaginative storyteller, Oliver Optic (William Taylor Adams, 1822-97) wrote 125 books and over a thousand stories for children. Among the best of his stories is The Blue and the Gray Series about the Civil War. A Victorious Union, first published in 1890, is the sixth and final book in the series.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

Includes a Build-Your-Vocabulary Glossary of some 307 words and definitions. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story.

Category Description for Blue and the Gray Series:

Weaving together historical events and fictional story-telling, this series take an up close and personal look at a tumultuous time in American history, known as the great Civil War. Centering on the adventures of Northern Captain Passford and his son, Christy, our story begins with a tale of 2 brothers-sympathizers on different sides of the conflict. Joining Captain Passford, we journey to Fort Gaines to retrieve his daughter, who was visiting her uncle when the rebellion broke out. The rest of the series visits common locations and events of the war between the states-see details below. While each book could stand alone, they are best read in numerical order for a thorough view of the times. Engaging story telling that presents a first-hand look at a tragic time in our nation's history. Olive Optic reprint edition by Lost Classics. Includes "Build your vocabulary glossary" with definitions and page references and black line maps SC. 351-369 pgs. ~Deanne

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Oliver Optic
Brand Name
Lost Classics Book Company
1.05 (lbs.)
8.5" x 5.5" x 1.0"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software