Taken by the Enemy (Blue and the Gray Series Book 1)

Taken by the Enemy (Blue and the Gray Series Book 1)

# 008691

Our Price: $5.39
Retail: $19.99
Save: 73.04% ($14.60)
Item no longer available.

Item #: 008691
ISBN: 9781890623036
Grades: 5-AD

Product Description:

Captain Passford and Christy journey across enemy lines to rescue Florrie

Publisher Description:

The Blue and the Gray Series is set during the American Civil War. Book One, Taken by the Enemy, sets the stage for the rest of the series as it opens during the days just before the conflict, when war is thought to be inevitable. It introduces the main character, Christy Passford, son of a successful Union businessman and leader. Christys father enlists his steamship in the cause of the North and Christy joins the Union navy. The series continues until the very end of the war in Book Six, A Victorious Union.

The books are filled with plenty of adventure that draw the reader into the story involving the young Christyincluding battles, prison breaks, espionage, and more. But it would be a mistake to view these books as mere adventure tales for young readers. These books describe many details of the War between the States and how it was conducted. Described here are the manner in which naval engagements were orchestrated at the time, how Southern ports were blockaded and blockade running was combatted, how neutral foreign ports were used by both sides, and how the war often split families, with members on both sides of the conflict.

The Blue and the Gray Series provides a broad overview of the Civil War and especially of naval operations, while keeping the readers attention through imaginative and exciting stories. These stories are not only history lessons, but lessons in character, exemplified by Christy Passford, who always aims to do his duty and the right thing at all costs. Christy shows courage and bravery in the face of sometimes harrowing events.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

All the books include a glossary. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. New maps, not found in the original editions, are included to help the reader follow along as the stories progress.Oliver OpticsThe Blue and the GraySeries.

This is the most astounding news! exclaimed Captain Horatio Passford.

It was on the deck of the magnificent steamyacht Bellevite, of which he was the owner; and with the newspaper, in which he had read only a few of the many headlines, still in his hand, he rushed furiously across the deck, in a state of the most intense agitation.

War between the states. It was unthinkable to Captain Passford, and many like him, but now it was a reality. Captain Passford and his family are Northerners, but like many other families, his brother lives in the South. Worst of all, Captain Passfords daughter Florrie is down South with her uncle. Determined to return Florrie to her home for the duration of the war, the Captain and his son Christy travel through enemy lines to bring her back North. An imaginative storyteller, Oliver Optic uses this combination of fictional and historical events as the background for a rattling good adventure story.

Oliver Optic wrote some 125 books and more than a thousand stories for children during the last half of the nineteenth century. Among the best of his stories is the Blue and the Gray Series about the Civil War. Taken by the Enemy is the first book in the series of six and introduces characters and events which figure in the subsequent books, giving children a personal as well as a historical picture of the Civil War that will broaden their horizons with every fresh page.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

Includes a Build-Your-Vocabulary Glossary of some 330 words and definitions. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story.

Category Description for Blue and the Gray Series:

Weaving together historical events and fictional story-telling, this series take an up close and personal look at a tumultuous time in American history, known as the great Civil War. Centering on the adventures of Northern Captain Passford and his son, Christy, our story begins with a tale of 2 brothers-sympathizers on different sides of the conflict. Joining Captain Passford, we journey to Fort Gaines to retrieve his daughter, who was visiting her uncle when the rebellion broke out. The rest of the series visits common locations and events of the war between the states-see details below. While each book could stand alone, they are best read in numerical order for a thorough view of the times. Engaging story telling that presents a first-hand look at a tragic time in our nation's history. Olive Optic reprint edition by Lost Classics. Includes "Build your vocabulary glossary" with definitions and page references and black line maps SC. 351-369 pgs. ~Deanne

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Oliver Optic
Brand Name
Lost Classics Book Company
1.0 (lbs.)
7.5" x 5.5" x 1.0"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software