Stand by the Union (Blue and the Gray Series Book 4)

Stand by the Union (Blue and the Gray Series Book 4)

# 008679

Our Price: $5.39
Retail: $19.99
Save: 73.04% ($14.60)
2 In Stock. Item will be unavailable when sold out.

Item #: 008679
ISBN: 9781890623111
Grades: 5-AD

Product Description:

Reporting to duty, Christy Passford, finds an imposter in his place, and is imprisoned by the Union Navy. Clearing his name and regaining command of his ship, Christy Passford resumes his duties amid great challenges.

Publisher Description:

The Blue and the Gray Series is set during the American Civil War. Book One, Taken by the Enemy, sets the stage for the rest of the series as it opens during the days just before the conflict, when war is thought to be inevitable. It introduces the main character, Christy Passford, son of a successful Union businessman and leader. Christys father enlists his steamship in the cause of the North and Christy joins the Union navy. The series continues until the very end of the war in Book Six, A Victorious Union.

The books are filled with plenty of adventure that draw the reader into the story involving the young Christyincluding battles, prison breaks, espionage, and more. But it would be a mistake to view these books as mere adventure tales for young readers. These books describe many details of the War between the States and how it was conducted. Described here are the manner in which naval engagements were orchestrated at the time, how Southern ports were blockaded and blockade running was combatted, how neutral foreign ports were used by both sides, and how the war often split families, with members on both sides of the conflict.

The Blue and the Gray Series provides a broad overview of the Civil War and especially of naval operations, while keeping the readers attention through imaginative and exciting stories. These stories are not only history lessons, but lessons in character, exemplified by Christy Passford, who always aims to do his duty and the right thing at all costs. Christy shows courage and bravery in the face of sometimes harrowing events.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

All the books include a glossary. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. New maps, not found in the original editions, are included to help the reader follow along as the stories progress.Oliver OpticsThe Blue and the Gray Series.

Christy Passford reports for duty only to find an impostor already in his place on board the transport ship headed for the Gulf. Unable to convince his superior officers that he is the real Christy Passford, he is made a prisoner of the Union navy. In spite of these complications, Christy solves this mystery and uncovers a clever plot by his cousin Corny and his Southern compatriots to abscond with an entire Union naval warshipChristys own commandright out of the midst of the Eastern Gulf Squadron!

After regaining command of his vessel, Christy continues his blockading duties around St. Andrews Bay, on the Florida panhandle. Christys uncle, Homer Passford, a staunch Confederate, is found on board a sloop that the Union ship has boarded and Christy learns of another blockade runner that he is determined to claim for the North.

From St. Andrews, Christy and his crew are bound for Isle Grande Terre on the south side of the Mississippi Delta. Although disappointed that they were not assigned up the Mississippi with the rest of the fleet, a daring reconnoitre reveals Confederate shipping to be had at this small Delta port. A small scale battle ensues, this time with serious consequences for Christy.

An imaginative storyteller, Oliver Optic (William Taylor Adams, 1822-97) wrote 125 books and over a thousand stories for children. Among the best of his stories is The Blue and the Gray Series about the Civil War. Stand by the Union, first published in 1891, is the fourth book in the series of six.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

Includes a Build-Your-Vocabulary Glossary of some 263 words and definitions. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. Two new maps of the Gulf Coast and a map of all of Christys adventures have been created specially for this edition.

Category Description for Blue and the Gray Series:

Weaving together historical events and fictional story-telling, this series take an up close and personal look at a tumultuous time in American history, known as the great Civil War. Centering on the adventures of Northern Captain Passford and his son, Christy, our story begins with a tale of 2 brothers-sympathizers on different sides of the conflict. Joining Captain Passford, we journey to Fort Gaines to retrieve his daughter, who was visiting her uncle when the rebellion broke out. The rest of the series visits common locations and events of the war between the states-see details below. While each book could stand alone, they are best read in numerical order for a thorough view of the times. Engaging story telling that presents a first-hand look at a tragic time in our nation's history. Olive Optic reprint edition by Lost Classics. Includes "Build your vocabulary glossary" with definitions and page references and black line maps SC. 351-369 pgs. ~Deanne

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Oliver Optic
Brand Name
Lost Classics Book Company
1.0 (lbs.)
7.5" x 5.5" x 1.0"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software