On the Blockade (Blue and the Gray Series Book 3)

On the Blockade (Blue and the Gray Series Book 3)

# 008623

Our Price: $5.39
Retail: $19.99
Save: 73.04% ($14.60)
In Stock. Item will be unavailable when sold out.

Item #: 008623
ISBN: 9781890623104
Grades: 5-AD

Product Description:

Lt. Christy Passford takes the helm of the US Steamer, the Bronx, with orders to intercept two Confederate gun boats. His mission is complicated by the presence of spies on his new command.

Publisher Description:

The Blue and the Gray Series is set during the American Civil War. Book One, Taken by the Enemy, sets the stage for the rest of the series as it opens during the days just before the conflict, when war is thought to be inevitable. It introduces the main character, Christy Passford, son of a successful Union businessman and leader. Christys father enlists his steamship in the cause of the North and Christy joins the Union navy. The series continues until the very end of the war in Book Six, A Victorious Union.

The books are filled with plenty of adventure that draw the reader into the story involving the young Christyincluding battles, prison breaks, espionage, and more. But it would be a mistake to view these books as mere adventure tales for young readers. These books describe many details of the War between the States and how it was conducted. Described here are the manner in which naval engagements were orchestrated at the time, how Southern ports were blockaded and blockade running was combatted, how neutral foreign ports were used by both sides, and how the war often split families, with members on both sides of the conflict.

The Blue and the Gray Series provides a broad overview of the Civil War and especially of naval operations, while keeping the readers attention through imaginative and exciting stories. These stories are not only history lessons, but lessons in character, exemplified by Christy Passford, who always aims to do his duty and the right thing at all costs. Christy shows courage and bravery in the face of sometimes harrowing events.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

All the books include a glossary. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. New maps, not found in the original editions, are included to help the reader follow along as the stories progress.Oliver OpticsThe Blue and the GraySeries.

Christy Passford sets sail for the Eastern Gulf Squadron, but finds that Confederate agents abound on his new command, the United States steamer Bronx. Christys orders are to intercept two new Confederate gunboats on their way to the States from England before they can do any mischief to the Union navy or shipping. The presence of spies on board complicates matters as the sailors from the Bronx, in the guise of a fellow Confederate man-of-war, are about to board the Confederate gunboat.

The hands who had been stationed for the purpose immediatelyused their grappling irons, and the two vessels were fast to each other.

Boarders! the first lieutenant shouted at a sign from the captain, but before he could complete the order, Pawcett, for we may call him now by his right name, leaped on the bulwarks of the Bronx.Thisis a United States he began to say, but he was allowed to proceed no further, for the first lieutenant raised the revolver he carried in his left hand, doubtless for this very purpose, and fired

Following this intrigue, Christy is assigned a dangerous mission to investigate the situation regarding blockade runners in the Cedar Keys. Opportunity presents itself during the reconnoiter and Christy attempts a capture of the Confederate shipping there, with the aid of stealth and daring.

An imaginative storyteller, Oliver Optic (William Taylor Adams, 1822-97) wrote 125 books and over a thousand stories for children. Among the best of his stories is The Blue and the Gray Series about the Civil War. On the Blockade, first published in 1890, is the third book in the series of six.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

Includes a Build-Your-Vocabulary Glossary of some 292 words and definitions. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. A new maps of the Cedar Keys and a map of all of Christys adventures have been created specially for this edition.

Category Description for Blue and the Gray Series:

Weaving together historical events and fictional story-telling, this series take an up close and personal look at a tumultuous time in American history, known as the great Civil War. Centering on the adventures of Northern Captain Passford and his son, Christy, our story begins with a tale of 2 brothers-sympathizers on different sides of the conflict. Joining Captain Passford, we journey to Fort Gaines to retrieve his daughter, who was visiting her uncle when the rebellion broke out. The rest of the series visits common locations and events of the war between the states-see details below. While each book could stand alone, they are best read in numerical order for a thorough view of the times. Engaging story telling that presents a first-hand look at a tragic time in our nation's history. Olive Optic reprint edition by Lost Classics. Includes "Build your vocabulary glossary" with definitions and page references and black line maps SC. 351-369 pgs. ~Deanne

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Oliver Optic
Brand Name
Lost Classics Book Company
1.0 (lbs.)
7.5" x 5.5" x 1.0"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software