Fighting for the Right (Blue and the Gray Series Book 5)

Fighting for the Right (Blue and the Gray Series Book 5)

# 008622

Our Price: $5.99
Retail: $19.99
Save: 70.04% ($14.00)
2 In Stock. Item will be unavailable when sold out.

Item #: 008622
ISBN: 9781890623128
Grades: 5-AD

Product Description:

Clandestine missions, capture and near imprisonment in a Southern prison, and sudden discovery of confederate stowaways make this an "edge of your seat" exciting tale.

Publisher Description:

The Blue and the Gray Series is set during the American Civil War. Book One, Taken by the Enemy, sets the stage for the rest of the series as it opens during the days just before the conflict, when war is thought to be inevitable. It introduces the main character, Christy Passford, son of a successful Union businessman and leader. Christys father enlists his steamship in the cause of the North and Christy joins the Union navy. The series continues until the very end of the war in Book Six, A Victorious Union.

The books are filled with plenty of adventure that draw the reader into the story involving the young Christyincluding battles, prison breaks, espionage, and more. But it would be a mistake to view these books as mere adventure tales for young readers. These books describe many details of the War between the States and how it was conducted. Described here are the manner in which naval engagements were orchestrated at the time, how Southern ports were blockaded and blockade running was combatted, how neutral foreign ports were used by both sides, and how the war often split families, with members on both sides of the conflict.

The Blue and the Gray Series provides a broad overview of the Civil War and especially of naval operations, while keeping the readers attention through imaginative and exciting stories. These stories are not only history lessons, but lessons in character, exemplified by Christy Passford, who always aims to do his duty and the right thing at all costs. Christy shows courage and bravery in the face of sometimes harrowing events.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

All the books include a glossary. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. New maps, not found in the original editions, are included to help the reader follow along as the stories progress.Oliver OpticsThe Blue and the GraySeries.

This story finds Christy Passford on his way to the Bermuda Islandsa neutral port, but a haven for Confederate blockade runners. Christy accompanys the intrepid French detective, Monsieur Gilfleur, alias Rubempr, on a clandestine information gathering mission. The detective and Christy pose as a French gentleman sailor and his servant and sail into Bermuda under the cover of night on the little Bahamian sloop, the Eleuthera What they find out is of great value when they rejoin their comrades waiting offshore in the United States steamer Chateaugay.Then it is off to the Bahamas and another secret mission. But things dont go as planned for Christy this time and he falls into the hands of one of his old adversaries. Shipped as a prisoner, Christy is on his way to a Southern prison when his luck changes and he extricates himself from his predicament.

Finally, Christy is sent to Tampa Bay in an effort to intercept Confederate shipping there. Heading up the wild and unsettled bay, he comes across the shipping he is looking for. The capture of the cotton steamer is almost too easy and when the prize is almost secure and out of the bay, Christy and his men are surprised by a crew of Confederate stowaways.

An imaginative storyteller, Oliver Optic (William Taylor Adams, 1822-97) wrote 125 books and over a thousand stories for children. Among the best of his stories is The Blue and the Gray Series about the Civil War. Fighting for the Right, first published in 1892, is the fifth book in the series of six.

Valuable Bonus for Homeschoolers

Includes a Build-Your-Vocabulary Glossary of some 300 words and definitions. Each word is cross-referenced with its page number so children can easily go back and see how it is used in the story. We have also included five maps, created specially for this edition.

Category Description for Blue and the Gray Series:

Weaving together historical events and fictional story-telling, this series take an up close and personal look at a tumultuous time in American history, known as the great Civil War. Centering on the adventures of Northern Captain Passford and his son, Christy, our story begins with a tale of 2 brothers-sympathizers on different sides of the conflict. Joining Captain Passford, we journey to Fort Gaines to retrieve his daughter, who was visiting her uncle when the rebellion broke out. The rest of the series visits common locations and events of the war between the states-see details below. While each book could stand alone, they are best read in numerical order for a thorough view of the times. Engaging story telling that presents a first-hand look at a tragic time in our nation's history. Olive Optic reprint edition by Lost Classics. Includes "Build your vocabulary glossary" with definitions and page references and black line maps SC. 351-369 pgs. ~Deanne

Primary Subject
Grade Start
Grade End
Oliver Optic
Brand Name
Lost Classics Book Company
1.05 (lbs.)
8.5" x 5.5" x 1.0"
Start typing your question and we'll check if it was already asked and answered. Learn More
No questions have been asked about this item. Be the first!
There are no reviews for this item. Write Review

help desk software