Under thie Big Top

A copy of CARCASSONNE is required to play this expansion.
You can integrate this entire expansion into the game,
or only parts of it if you choose. You can also combine

this expansion with any other CARCASSONNE expansions.

*20 Land tiles (marked with S, to help you separate and sort your tiles)
including:

12 Circus tiles with one circus space each =
8 Acrobat tiles with two acrobat spaces each m
* 16 Animal tokens:

1x Elephant @ 2x Tiger @ 3x Bear @ 5x Seal @ back
4x Monkey @, 1x Flea y

* 1 Big Top ‘
* 6 Ringmasters é} g g ; g s

Shuffle the 20 new Land tiles with those from the base game (and any other
expansions you wish to use). Shuffle the 16 Animal tokens and place them in a
facedown stack within easy reach of all players. Place the Big Top near the stack
of Animal tokens. Finally, players add the ringmaster in their

color to their supply of meeples.

1. Placing a tile

Circus tiles are placed like normal Land tiles.

Special case: When the first Circus tile is placed, take the top Animal token
from the stack, place it facedown on the circus space, and place the Big Top on
it. From this point on, the Big Top moves only when a player places a new
Circus tile (after 3. Scoring a feature).




2. Placing a meeple

After placing a Circus tile, you can place a meeple on it as a highwayman,
a knight, or a farmer as usual. However, you cannot place a meeple on the
circus space.

You place the first Circus tile and place a

meeple on the road. Then you put a

facedown Animal token on the circus space

and place the Big Top on the token.

3. Scoring a feature

1) Score any features that were
completed when the Circus tile
was placed.

2) Then score the circus on the
Big Top’s current tile:

First reveal the Animal token on
which the Big Top stands. Then,
for each of your meeples on the

Circus tile itself and the eight
surrounding tiles, score points
equal to the value on the revealed
Animal token.

Note: Ringmasters also count as
meeples so, if they occupied a
space surrounding the Big Top
when scoring the circus, they
would score points.

Whenever you place another Circus tile during the game:

1) You place

this new Circus tile,
which completes
Blue's road.

Blue scores 3 points
and takes

her meeple back.

2) You reveal the

Animal token.

The seal is worth

4 points per meeple.

Since you have three meeples on tiles
surrounding the Big Top, you score 12 points.
Blue’s one meeple scores 4 points.




Important: When scoring the circus, meeples that score points are not
returned to their owner’s supply. Instead, they stay on their tile.

3) After scoring the
circ'us, remove the ol e
Animal token from the = = space of the
game by placing it new Circus tile and
faceup next to the place the Big Top
scoreboard. Finally, take on the token.

the top Animal token

from the stack, put it

facedown on the new

circus space, and place

the Big Top on it.

3) Put a new Animal

Game end
At the end of the game before final scoring,
score the circus one last time.

Note on circus spaces
Circus spaces close roads and separate fields from each other.

AckosrTES s&r ;
1, Placing a tile
Acrobat tiles are placed like normal Land tiles.

2. Placing a meeple as an acrobat

After placing an Acrobat tile, you can place your meeple on the road or in the
field, as usual.

You also have another option: you can ~ On a later turn, if you place a tile

place your meeple as an acrobat on  adjacent to one or more Acrobat tiles

one of the two acrobat spaces. (horizontally, vertically, or diagonally),
you may place a meeple as an
acrobat on one of those Acrobat tiles.

1) You place this 2) Blue

Acrobat tile and place ? ' places this tile

your meeple on one of (L3 and places a

the two acrobat spaces. : meeple next
10 yours.




If the two acrobat spaces are already  3) Later in the
occupied, you can add a third gane, you place
meeple on the shoulders of the a tile diagonally
other two meeples. At that point, adjacent to an
the pyramid is complete, and no Acrobat tile and

more meeples can be added to it. your comp l,gte
) the pyramid by
The color of the meeples in the placing a

pyramid does not matter. Pyramids meeple on top.
can have meeples of one, two, or
three colors.

If you place an Acrobat tile adjacent to one or more Acrobat tiles and you wish
to place a meeple as an acrobat, choose on which of those Acrobat tiles to place
your acrobat.

3. Scoring a feature

When there are three acrobats in a pyramid,
it is ready to be scored. However, pyramids
are not scored immediately after
completion because the acrobats wish to
display their skills for a little while.

Instead of placing a meeple or any other
figure during 2. Placing a meeple, you
can score a completed pyramid. Each
acrobat in the completed pyramid scores
its owner 5 points and then returns to .
a meeple and instead choose to

165 Slfp‘ply ’ score this pyramid.
Additional rules: You score 10 points.

* After a pyramid has been scored, players Bluse scores 5 points.
can start a new pyramid on the same tile
by placing a meeple as an acrobat on it.
* You can score a completed pyramid even if you have no acrobats in it.

On a later turn, you do not place

Game end

During final scoring, each of your acrobats scores 5 points, regardless of the
pyramid’s size.

Note on acrobat spaces

Acrobat spaces close roads and separate fields from each other.




THERINGMASTER - <27 AT ey JWT

2, Placing a meeple

You can place your ringmaster (instead of a meeple) on a road, in a city or
a monastery, or lay him down in a field. The ringmaster counts as a normal
meeple in all cases except that it cannot be used as an acrobat.

the completed feature.

Then, for each Circus and Acrobat
tile that your ringmaster is on or
adjacent to, score 2 points. You also
score these ringmaster points even if
your ringmaster did not score any
points from the completed feature
(e.g., someone else had majority).
The Big Top and acrobats in a
pyramid do not affect ringmaster
points. After scoring, return the
ringmaster to your supply.

Game end

At the end of the game, ringmasters
in fields or on incomplete features
score ringmaster points.

3. Scoring a feature

If the feature with your ringmaster becomes completed, first score points for

You complete

the road thar

your ringmaster is on.

First, you score 5 points for the road.
Then you score 8 points for the 4 Circus
and Acrobat tiles (2 points each)
for a rotal of 13 points.
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RULES FOR USING THIS EXPANSION WITH OTHER EXPANSIONS

Refer to this page when questions come up about how this expansion interacts with
other expansions. Until then, you can skip this page and start playing!

When scoring a circus, these figures score points:
 Normal meeple * Abbot (Base Game) * Large meeple (Exp. 1)
* Wagon (Exp. 5) * Mayor (Exp. 5) * Ringmaster (Exp. 10)
When scoring a circus, these figures DO NOT score points:
* Builder (Exp. 2) * Pig (Exp. 2)
* Barn (Exp. 5) * Shepherd (Exp. 9)
Exp. 8: You can build a bridge on a Circus tile (with or without the Big Top)
following the normal rules.
If at least one tile forming a castle is adjacent to the Big Top, a meeple in

l that castle will score points when a circus is scored.

General: Only normal meeples can be part of a meeple pyramid. Neither the large

meeple (Exp. 1) nor any other figures are allowed.

Exp. 3: You may assign the fairy to an acrobat, in which case it counts for all acrobats
in the pyramid (regardless of color). If the fairy is still there at the beginning
of your turn, you score | point for each of your meeples in the pyramid.

You can use a magic portal to place one of your meeples on an acrobat
space/pyramid.

Exp. 4: If you capture an acrobat with the tower, you can choose any meeple in the
pyramid (regardless of its position).

Exp. 8: You can build a bridge on an Acrobat tile only if no acrobats are on it,
and you cannot place an acrobat on an Acrobat tile with a bridge on it.

A meeple pyramid in a castle’s fief does not count as a “feature” that can
cause a castle to score.

General: The ringmaster counts as a normal meeple. He has the same uses as a

normal meeple in all expansions.

Exp. 4: You can place your ringmaster on a tower (even if it will be a little wobbly).

Exp. 5: If you use your ringmaster as a farmer, you score his ringmaster points in all
cases (during final scoring, after a barn is placed in the ringmaster’s field,
or after the ringmaster’s field is connected to a barn).
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